Both sides of the story

Citizenship and Immigration Canada just announced that they will be welcoming more skilled workers from abroad. Click here to Read the press release

This is a great news for people like me – who is seeking for the permanent residency status in Canada. However, we should look into this critically.

There are two news stories I have read on the day this news was delivered.

1. VANCOUVER SUN
vancouver sun
The story highlights one of international students from Korea who wishes to stay in Canada after completing his college program.

“I love Canada but sometimes I think they ask too much in order to have permanent residency status. I just want them to make it easier,” said the 21-year-old Yim, who has been studying business at VCC for nearly six years.

Yim said one of the requirements for him to stay in Canada is to have a job in management, which can be difficult to achieve when starting out in the workforce.

“If they don’t make it easier they will lose students,” he said.

(emphasis added by me)

Read more…

The article ends up with giving somewhat negative attitudes toward international students or those who are seeking permanent residency status because of the student’s responses in the story. Someone commented “It looks more like someone milking the immigration system.” and others also mentioned that how come he is taking 6 years to complete 2 years program.

The reporter could have added some background information if this student has certain reason why he is taking such a long time at VCC. Also, the student could have answered more carefully whatever he was asked. As I have gone through life as an international student both in the U.S. and Canada, I understood how he is frustrated by getting all the paperworks done. However, it is what it should be and has to be. If the process is easy, there will be a lot of problems both nationally and internationally. It would create unusual flux of people and social problems. People who are eligible to immigrate should be limited. That is my opinion. If I were interviewed by the reporter, I would answer:

Studying and working in Canada has been teaching me a lot. I have been given great experiences so far. I understand going through application process would be a lot and might be frustrating, but I would take this as another opportunity given to me.

Sometimes you will regret what you said after the interview and you will start coming up with some better answers and thinking “I could have said like this!”

2.GLOBE & MAIL
globe and mail
The story features one university graduate who works at a bank and is originally from Mongolia.

The new program has made a difference for people like Goomaral Chukhalkhuu of Mongolia, who is now a permanent resident. These days, the 25-year-old daughter of a Mongolian diplomat is a manager of small-business accounts at a Royal Bank in Ottawa.


Ms. Chukhalkhuu, who obtained an honours bachelor’s degree in international business from Carleton University, said it made sense to ease the immigration process.

“I already studied here. I already speak the language, both French and English, so it makes it easier for both me and Canada,” she said.

Read more…

As you can see, this story gives totally different impression. It is more positive and motivate people to support or seek PR (Permanent Residency).

How would you take this news?

