Taco Rice

Japanese people like to borrow ideas and come up with something new with their own twist. This applies for not only cars or electronic appliances, but also food!

Today, I would like to introduce “Taco Rice” – it is a dish invented in Okinawa.

taco rice

In this picture I used shredded cabbage, but usually it is a dish of shredded lettuce with grounded beef, cheese, diced tomatoes and hot sauce on the rice. I think the idea is not taken from Mexican tacos, rather, it is from Tex-Mex tacos. If I have an avocado, I usually dice and sprinkle them, too.

chipotle

It is sort of similar to the one I had at Chipotle in the U.S. However, I definitely think Japanese Taco Rice is way better than the one at Chipotle!

If you get some extra ingredients from your taco-making, give it a try!

