Muffin Tops

Recently, my breakfast is westernized because I don’t have enough time to prepare for the breakfast in the morning. I miss rice and miso soup style breakfast… But my body prefers to sleep in 30 mins longer!

On Monday, I had one banana for the breakfast. On Tuesday, I had two butter rolls with strawberry jam and a cup of coffee. Yesterday, I had one chocolate chip and cherry muffin with a cup of coffee.

muffin

When I was eating this, it reminded me of one of the Seinfeld episodes and it stuck in my head. Do you remember the episode when Elaine talks about muffin tops? (I was pretty amazed that there’s a dedicated page about this episode on Wikipedia!)

I think if there’s a muffin top store, I would love to visit! I love muffin tops and it would be perfect size for me to have only tops for the breakfast. It looks like cookies, but I feel like muffin tops are more breakfast-ish!

As the first picture tells you, I actually had the muffin top (or edge) for the breakfast and ate the rest in the evening. LOL. The muffin stump became my quick snack for the evening. Along with the muffin stump, I also tried a cup of brand-new Starbucks Blonde Roast. If you like coffee, but usually cannot finish a grande cup, or if you like americano, I am sure you would love this. This might be great for evening coffee as it does not taste too strong.

Then I ran to this public lecture at SFU.

right to food poster

The main speaker of this lecture was executive director from Downtown Eastside Neighbourhood House (DTESNH) and he talked about: 1. the right to food, 2. charity, 3. social justice. After his talk, there are some panelists who is studying on the subject and who is providing related services gave a short talk as well.

This lecture definitely revealed that welfare rate increase and affordable housing strategy are necessary to secure our right to access nutritious, reasonable, and fresh food. Current welfare rate is not reflected on current housing prices and it makes difficult for low-income people (or people on welfare) to maintain their health.

Engel’s coefficient is usually considered as measurement of the quality of life, however, this will not be applied for people who are under the poverty line as they do not have enough money to budget – more than 70% will have to be spent on their rent already.

People have to rely on food banks, soup kitchens or aids from faith organizations. Access to food is supposed to be one of our basic human rights, but these less fortunate people are lining up outside of the building for a long time regardless of weather or are sometimes forced to attend services or say a prayer to access a meal. Needless to say, I myself would have to rely on these if my rent or food prices increased. We have to understand this could happen to anyone. In fact, my family has had a hard time getting variety of foods due to poverty when I was little. I have seen a divide between my family meals and my friends’ meals and always wished I could eat something like theirs. This experience raised my awareness of food literacy and interests in cooking – cook properly with proper ingredients and methods. Don’t forget appreciation!

This issue has to be put on the table in federal, provincial, and municipal level. In the meantime, what I could do is blog about this issue, talk to friends, and support innovative poverty reduction projects and/or food projects!

