Mardi Gras

After I watched HBO drama series “Treme,” I became interested in New Orleans and its culture.

Today is Mardi Gras and I decided to bake a king cake!

king cake 1
Before putting in the oven.

king cake 2
After baking in the oven for about 25 minutes.

king cake 3
Icing with mardi grass coloured sugar sprinkles.

king cake 4

I followed this recipe and it turned out pretty well, especially the filling tastes really good. However, I have never tasted the authentic king cake, so I am not sure if mine is “authentic” or not.

I also saw some pictures and you tube videos, then I found that the real one would be super sweet. I did not put a lot of icing and it made it difficult to sprinkle sugar on the top. Like this cooking video puts a lot of icing!

It’s ok. That’s why mardi gras means “fat tuesday.” I’ll be responsible for my diet from tomorrow. LOL.

Someday I would love to go to New Orleans on Mardi Gras day and dance all day. Oh right, that’s why we need fatty and sugary foods!

