How to overcome SAD symptoms in Raincouver

Winter has come. Time to suffer from SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder).

How to overcome this? Here’s how I do it!

1. Indulge in Arts
There are many arts and cultural festivals happening. Attending these events will get me inspired and give me some energy.

On Friday, I went to Heart of the City Festival. Art show opening, day of the dead music show, and framenco – all in one night!

Gallery gachet is doing a fundraiser by selling these small art. It is $10-$100 sliding scale and each ones are so different and unique. Yesterday, many people including me were checking them out and making a purchase.
art cart fundraiserart cart fundraiser crowd
This is one of my favourites from the show.
lighter
People clapped their hands (palma) for the wonderful framenco performance! It was very passionate and sexy!
framenco

2. Cook warm dishes
Another way to survive this gloomy time is cooking. Try new dishes, cook favourite dishes or cook anything warms you up!
miso nikomi udon 1miso nikomi udon 2
Nagoya’s famous noodle soup – miso nikomi udon! Broth is not katsuo (bonito) & soy sauce based. It is miso based with a lot of vegetables!
miso risottomiso risotto and chicken wings
I used leftover soup to make risotto (or ojiya) on the next day. With another famous Nagoya dish – chicken wings! I tried to pair with Gewürztraminer from Cedar Creek Estate Winery, but miso’s flavour and wine’s sweetness and spiciness did not go well. Next time I would pair with red wine. This wine would go with Pad Thai or sweet and sour pork.

To sum up, SAD will not be a problem as long as you are enjoying your life;)

