Ads

My friend posted this on her facebook and it was very interesting.

First of all, it definitely reminded me of my communication days at SFU – we basically talked about a lot about objectification of women and other elements described in the video such as subordination, notion of beauty and sexualization.

The video explains even more by sharing stats. I was surprised some of numbers like 36% increase in breast argumentation (from 2000-2009).

But, I cannot hate advertising completely. Some are very creative, humorous and captures our cultural value. At the same time, we have to understand ads are also used to create new cultural value.

As this video concludes, having critical eyes on ads is very important.

erving goffman

I am going to go back to basics – reading Erving Goffman tonight. Reminiscing about my struggling university student days in CMNS!

